July 29, 2012 – Photos of the Week: It’s All About Grain Elevators!

As I mentioned in an earlier blog I am obsessed with trains and grain elevators. I have always loved trains since I was a child growing up in Grande Prairie. In fact one of my earliest childhood memories is when my dad arranged for a train ride with the train engineer from Grande Prairie to Sexsmith, and it was truly one of the most amazing experiences of my childhood! The following is an image my father took of me in front of the engine, right before the ride!

Therefore my quest to capture images of grain elevators is not just about preserving a part of our Albertan heritage, it’s also about preserving mine.

One thing that fascinates me about these elevators is the colors. Up until the 1960s all of the grain elevators in Alberta were reddish brown, after that time they became which ever color represented their respective owners or companies.

Jewel of Big Valley

A Touch of Heritage #1

A Touch of Heritage #2

All Aboard!

Highway to Stettler

Prairie Monuments

Under The Swirling Sky

Last Caboose

Spirit of the Railroad

_________________________________________________________
To view my entire prairies collection follow this link: Songs of the Prairies

To purchase prints follw this link: My Etsy Shop.

Until next week..

~ by Larry on July 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
